Curriculum and Schedule

Module 1 - Effective Leadership

Building a talent pipeline: identifying, selecting and retaining quality administrators; Building teams and motivating individuals; Coaching and mentoring

Instructors: Dr. Trudy Arriaga, Distinguished Educator in Residence, GSOE; Dr. Veronica Guerrero, Assistant Professor, School of Management

Thu., Sept. 15, 2016
1pm to 5pm
Fri., Sept. 16, 2016
8am to 12pm
Fri., Sept. 30, 2016
8am to 12pm

Module 2 - Managing Stakeholder Relationships

Basics of stakeholder management; Working with public employee unions; Board management

Instructors: Jake Anderson, CTA Regional Director; Jay Fernow, Partner, Fagen Friedman & Fulfrost

Fri., Oct. 14, 2016
8am to 12pm
Fri., Nov. 18, 2016
8am to 12pm
Fri., Dec. 2, 2016
8am to 12pm

Module 3 - Effective Management of Finances & Resources

The budget process; Strategic planning and LCAP; Collective bargaining; Involving the board and stakeholders

Instructor: Dr. Jeff Baarstad, Former Superintendent

Fri., Jan. 13, 2017
8am to 12pm
Fri., Feb. 10, 2017
8am to 12pm
Fri., Mar. 10, 2017
8am to 12pm

Module 4 - Marketing & Media Relations

How to effectively manage media and public relations; Building winning social media strategies; Crisis communication

Instructors: Terilyn Finders, Director of Comm. & Legislative Affairs, Fagen Friedman & Fulfrost; Dr. Ann Bonitatibus, Superintendent, Conejo Valley USD

Fri., Apr. 14, 2017
8am to 12pm
Fri., May 12, 2017
8am to 12pm
Fri., June 9, 2017
8am to 12pm

Module 5 - Innovation and Change Management

Creating entrepreneurial cultures; Designing and implementing change for impact

Instructors: Dr. Robert Fraisse, Former Superintendent; Dr. William Gartner, Professor, School of Management

Wed., July 12, 2017
8am to 12pm
Thu., July 13, 2017
8am to 12pm
Fri., July 14, 2017
8am to 12pm
©