Educational Effectiveness Committee

Purpose
  1. To support the culture of reflective practice for program development and review at California Lutheran University (CLU), by:
      1. serving as a centralized resource for educational effectiveness activities
      2. promoting communication about best practices for program self-evaluations
  2. To support institution-wide evaluations and decision-making in support of integrating program review, strategic planning, accreditation, and institutional research
  3. To gather data on the achievement of university learning outcomes
Responsibilities
  1. Provide recommendations to enhance the quality of university educational effectiveness at CLU
  2. Serve as educational effectiveness liaisons to units within CLU
  3. Oversee the mechanics and process of academic and non-academic program reviews
  4. Provide support for survey development, implementation and scheduling
  5. Provide educational effectiveness support for reaccreditation processes
  6. Provide support for the Director of Educational Effectiveness and Institutional Research
Membership

The core committee, listed below, includes representation from major academic and administrative units at CLU.  The committee has both an academic focus and an administrative focus and may break into task groups for particular projects.  The Provost, working with the Deans, appoints administrative representatives to the committee. The CLU Faculty Executive Committee appoints faculty members to the committee.

Faculty Appointments (staggered three-year term limits)
  1. Four to six faculty members representing graduate and undergraduate programs
Administrative appointments
  1. Director of Educational Effectiveness and Institutional Research
  2. Assessment coordinators/officers from each of the Divisions within the College of Arts and Sciences and from each School
  3. Institutional Research Officer
  4. Up to 5 administrative appointments representing key roles in program development and review
  5. Educational Effectiveness & Institutional Research Data Analyst/Program Review Facilitator
  6. Representative from the Students

Committee Members


Rodney Reynolds
Director of Educational Effectiveness and Institutional Research
(805) 493-3658
rreynol@callutheran.edu 

Cathy Alexander
Institutional Research Officer, Educational Effectiveness & Institutional Research
(805) 493-3147
alexande@callutheran.edu

Michael Arndt
Professor, Theater Arts
(805) 493-3416
arndt@callutheran.edu

Lisa Buono
Director, Bachelor's Degree for Professionals
(805) 493-3663
llbuono@callutheran.edu

Kristine Butcher
Professor, Chemistry
(805) 493-3338
butcher@callutheran.edu

Andrea Cruz
Research Specialist, Educational Effectiveness & Institutional Research
(805) 493-3018
andreac@callutheran.edu

Erin Ebersole
ACE Fellow, President's Office
(805) 493-3532
eebersole@callutheran.edu

Jacquelyn Greenhill
Lecturer, Graduate School of Education
(805) 493-3492
jgreenhi@callutheran.edu

Juanita Hall
Dir. Multicultural & International Program
(805) 493-3951
jahall@callutheran.edu

Maria Kohnke
Director of Academic Services,
Registrar
(805) 493-3105
kohnke@callutheran.edu

Valeria Makarova
Assistant Professor, MBA
(805) 493-3285
vmakarov@callutheran.edu

Henri Mondschein
Information Specialist, ISS
(805) 493-3012
mondsche@callutheran.edu

Barbara Rex
Director of Planning and Budget
(805) 493-3175
rex@callutheran.edu

Lorynn Selby
Lecturer, Graduate School of Education
lselby@callutheran.edu

Ryan Sharma
Associate Professor, Graduate Psychology & Director, Clinical Training
(805) 493-3056
rnsharma@callutheran.edu

Scott Silverman
Assistanr Dean/Director of Student Life
(805) 493-3218
ssilverman@callutheran.edu

Melinda Wright
Data Analyst, Educational Effectiveness & Institutional Research
(805) 493-3962
mjwright@callutheran.edu

©