Provost's 2019 Grant Recipient and Author Honorees


Grants & Contracts
  • Rose Aslan - from Interfaith Youth Core for curriculum development and from Council of American Overseas Research Centers for faculty development in Pakistan.
  • Brian Collins – from PLATO (Philosophy Learning and Teaching Organization) for a Summer Philosophy Institute.
  • Jamshid Damooei – from Ventura County Civic Alliance for the State of the Region Report 2019.
  • Matthew Fienup and Dan Hamilton – from Los Angeles County Board of Supervisors for the San Fernando Valley Forecast; from Southern California Association of Governments for on-call economic analysis; from Dignified Home Loans for the Center for Economic Research and Forecasting; and from The Nature Conservancy and Fox Canyon Groundwater Management Agency for the Fox Canyon Water Market.
  • Sergio Galvez – from Edison International and the U.S. Department of Education for the Upward Bound program.
  • Kenneth Gardner – from the Thousand Oaks Alliance for the Arts for performances of “The Pirate Queen.”
  • Molly George – from Ventura Council of Governments for evaluation of Project Safe Passage.
  • Desta Goehner and Ray Pickett – from the Lilly Endowment for the Thriving Leadership Formation.
  • Dan Hamilton and Matthew Fienup – from the Latino Donor Collaborative and Wells Fargo for the Latino GDP Report.
  • Timothy Hengst – from the Conejo Valley School District and the City of Westlake Village for the Shakespeare Educational Tour and from the City of Thousand Oaks for the Shakespeare Festival.
  • Rick Holigrocki – from the Insurance Industry Charitable Foundation for Community Counseling Services.
  • Dena Jenson – from Amgen Foundation and Kaiser Foundation Hospitals for the Nonprofit Resiliency Project.
  • Sabithula Khan – from the Hayeck Fund for a book project on nongovernmental organizations overseas.
  • Ekta Kumar and Rick Holigrocki – from American Red Cross for mental health services related to the Thomas Fire.
  • Cindy Lewis – from Bank of America and Limoneira for the 4 A Cause Nonprofit Internship Program.
  • David Marcey – from the National Science Foundation for the RCN-UBE Incubator project.
  • Jose Marichal and Cynthia Duarte – from the Social Justice Fund for Ventura County for the Immigrant Empowerment Advocates program.
  • Scott Maxwell-Doherty – from Sierra Pacific Synod of the ELCA for spiritual learning and networking opportunities for students.
  • Michael McCambridge – from Amgen Foundation for the Next Generation Science Standards Circles.
  • Jessica Lavariega Monforti – from the National Science Foundation through a subaward from University of Texas for political science research.
  • Kelly Owens, Matthew Ward and Paloma Vargas – from the U.S. Department of Education for the CHESS and EduCal programs.
  • Edlyn Pena – from the Disability Communications Fund for the Spectrum of Opportunity Conference.
  • Moses Penumaka and Scott Maxwell-Doherty – from the Vesper Society for the TEEM Interfaith Leadership program.
Book Authors & Editors
  • Chad BarberHuman Pathobiochemistry: From Clinical Studies to Melecular Mechanisms
  • Virginia GeanA Village of Knowledge
  • Jacqueline LyonsAdorable Airport
  • Jessica Lavariega MonfortiLatinos in the American Political System: An Encyclopedia of Latinos as Voters, Candidates, and Office Holders
  • Sam ThomasThe Dead Sea Scrolls and the Study of the Humanities
  • Dan TillapaughMen & Masculinities
  • Vlad VaimanMacro Talent Management and Macro Talent Management in Emerging and Emergent Markets