English Department

2014-15 Literary Events Calendar

Fall 2014 Scheduled Events

  • English-Religion Event: Express Yourself Through Poetry, Thurs. Sept. 18th, 6-8 pm, Overton
  • Guest Writer Poet Frank Montesanti, Weds. Sept. 24th, 4 pm, Rolland Gallery (English Department/Books & Brew)       
  • Book Club: The Great Floodgates of the Wonderworld (memoir) by Justin Hocking Weds. Oct. 1st, 7 pm, Ullman 100 (Books & Brew/Alumni Relations)
  • Guest Writer Poet Heather Winterer: Weds. Nov. 12th, 4 pm, Rolland Gallery (English Department/Books & Brew)
  • Book Club: The Way They Say Yes Here (poetry) by Jacqueline Lyons, Dec. 3rd 7 pm, Ullman 100 (Books & Brew /Alumni Relations)
  • Emily Dickinson’s Birthday Party, Weds. Dec. 10th, Humanities Bldg.

Spring 2015 Scheduled Events

  • Artists & Speakers Series: Nature and Science Writer Chris Cokinos: Tues. Feb. 24th, 7 pm, Overton (English Department/Artists & Speakers Series)
  • Book Club: Claire of the Sea Light (fiction) by Edwidge Danticat, March 4th 7 pm, Ullman 100 (Books & Brew/Alumni Relations)
  • Guest Writer Poet Andrew McFayden-Ketchum, Weds. March 18th, 4 pm Rolland Gallery (English Department/Books & Brew)
  • April is National Poetry Month: Events across campus throughout April

Questions? Contact Dr. Jacqueline Lyons (jlyons@callutheran.edu)

 

Calendar of Academic Events

SPRING 2014 ACADEMIC SCHEDULE
January 2014
Mon, Jan. 6
  • Fall 2013 Grades Due 8:00am
Mon, Jan. 20
  • Martin Luther King Day-Campus Closed
Tue, Jan. 21
  • New Student Orientation
Wed, Jan. 22
  • Spring Classes begins 7:30am
February 2014
Tue, Feb. 4
  • Last Day to Add/Drop without a grade of "W"
Sun, Feb. 9
  • Morning Glory Submissions Due
Mon, Feb. 17
  • President's Day-Campus Closed
March 2014
Sat, Mar. 15 - Mar. 23
  • Spring Break
Mon, Mar. 24
  • Classes resume 7:30am
Fri, Mar. 28
  • Ledbetter/Van Doren/Koa-Plumeria Prize Submissions Due
Tue, Mar. 25 - Mar. 31
  • Registration for Summer 2014 Begins
  • Advanced Registration for Fall 2014
April 2014
Thu, Apr. 10
  • Last Day to withdraw, file a Pass/No Credit grade request for a lecture course or remove an incomplete from Fall 2013
Fri, Apr. 18
  • Good Friday-Campus Closed
Fri, Apr. 18 - Apr. 20
  • Easter Break--7:30am
Mon, Apr. 21
  • Classes resume 4:00pm
Tue, Apr. 29
  • Honors Day Convocation
May 2014
Thu, Mar. 8
  • Morning Glory/English Department Banquet
Fri, May. 9
  • Last Day of Scheduled Classes
Mon, May. 12 - May. 16
  • Finals Week
Fri, May. 16
  • End of Spring 2014 Semester
Sat, May. 17
  • Commencement 10:00am
Sat, May. 24
  • Grades Due 12:00 noon
Mon, May. 26
  • MEMORIAL DAY

 

For other calendars, please see the links below:

 

Athletic Calendars: http://www.clusports.com/

Arts and Events Calendars: http://www.callutheran.edu/calendar/

Kwan Fong Art Gallery Exhibits: http://blogs.callutheran.edu/kwanfong/

Undergraduate Student Events Calendar: http://www.callutheran.edu/calendar/student

Special Events Calendar: http://www.callutheran.edu/calendar/special

Feedback Form