Safe Zone Allies

Safe zone

Safe Zone trainings are provided for students, faculty, and staff who are interested in learning about and demonstrating their support for the presence of a culturally diverse campus that embraces underrepresented groups.

Safe Zone Goals

  • To establish a university-wide network of identifiable allies who can provide support, information, and assistance to those who are coping with hardships.
  • To educate members of the Cal Lutheran community about the needs of individuals and groups who tend to receive less public support.
  • To foster an atmosphere of support for the academic, personal, social, and professional success of all students, regardless of their cultural identity.
  • To advance the university’s progress toward a campus climate free of discrimination, oppression, and harassment.
 
What is an Ally?

An ally works to end oppression and discrimination through support and advocacy.

Allies:
  • Educate themselves and others about their own privileges and biases.
  • Stay committed and active in creating equality.
  • Act as a “safe person” for members of underrepresented groups.
  • Create and promote inclusive and welcoming environments.
  • Work to confront negative attitudes and unequal treatment of people based on their sexual orientation, gender identity, sex, race, class, ability, age, spirituality, and other personal or cultural characteristics.
  • Model self-awareness in their behaviors and attitudes.
  • Model self-compassion and compassion toward others.

 

Faculty and Staff Allies
Name Email Phone
Emily Amilhussin amilhussin@callutheran.edu  (805) 493-3142
Rose Aslan raslan@callutheran.edu  (805) 493-3236
Robyn Ballard rballard@callutheran.edu (805) 493-3109
Majelane Bautista mbautista@callutheran.edu  (805) 493-3662
Linda Boberg lboberg@callutheran.edu (805) 493-3228
Beth Brennan ebrennan@callutheran.edu (805) 493-3687
Jim Bond jabond@callutheran.edu (805) 493-3244
Roberta Brodie rbrodie@callutheran.edu (805) 493-3260
Lisa Buono llbuono@callutheran.edu  (805) 493-3663
Jessica Burnette jburnett@callutheran.edu (805) 493-3117

Loredana Carson

carson@callutheran.edu  (805) 493-3002

Vanessa Chacon

vchacon@callutheran.edu (805) 493-3324
Lana Clark lclark@callutheran.edu (805) 493-3883
Brian Collins briancollins@callutheran.edu  (805) 493-3233
Anne Cossentine acossent@callutheran.edu (805) 493-3171
Nicole Cozzi ncozzi@callutheran.edu  (805) 493-3680
Edgar Cruz eacruz@callutheran.edu  (805) 493-3180
Greg Daven gdaven@callutehran.edu (805) 493-3390
Debby Day dday@callutheran.edu  (805) 493-3408
Adriana Dominguez adominguez@callutheran.edu  (805) 493-3128
Cynthia Duarte cynthiaduarte@callutheran.edu   
Christina Fabbro cfabbro@callutheran.edu (805) 493-3138
Brandy Fall bfall@callutheran.edu  (805) 493-3225
Nathan Fall nafall@callutheran.edu (805) 493-3954
Sophia Fischer sfischer@callutheran.edu  (805) 493-3846
Monica Gascon mgascon@callutheran.edu (805) 493-3014
(805) 493-3845
Rahuldeep Gill rgill@callutheran.edu (805) 493-3786
Desta Goehner desta@callutheran.edu  (805) 493-3152
Cindy Grether cgrether@callutheran.edu (805) 493-3678
Juanita Hall jahall@calutheran.edu (805) 493-3951
Joseph Hernandez jhernan@callutheran.edu  (805) 493-3215
Larkin Higgins higgins@calutheran.edu (805) 493-3315
Caitlin Hodges hodges@callutheran.edu  (805) 493-3154
Elena Jaloma ejaloma@callutheran.edu (805) 493-3602
Andrea Kendrick kendrick@calutheran.edu (805) 493-3124
Jodie Kocur jkocur@callutheran.edu (805) 493-3441
Bonnie Johnson brjohnso@callutheran.edu (805) 493-3814
Louise Kelly lakelly@callutheran.edu (805) 493-3597
Maria Kohnke kohnke@callutheran.edu (805) 493-3105
Ruslan Korchagin rkorchag@callutheran.edu  (805) 493-3794
Chiara Lamb clamb@callutheran.edu  (805) 493-3991
Kerri Lauchner klauchne@callutheran.edu (805) 493-3225
Daniel Lawrence lawrenc@callutheran.edu (805) 493-3489
Cindy Lewis clewis@callutheran.edu  (805) 493-3199
Schannae Lucas sllucas@callutheran.edu (805) 493-3391
Natalie Luna nluna@callutheran.edu  (805) 493-3300
Monica Madrigal mmadriga@callutheran.edu (805) 493-3535
Jayni Martinez jmmartinez@callutheran.edu  (805) 493-3260
Kevin Matthews kevinm@callutheran.edu (805) 493-3155
Juan Mendoza jmendoza@callutheran.edu  (805) 493-3178
Kari Meyers kmeyers@callutheran.edu (805) 587-2041
Holly Mulligan hmulliga@callutheran.edu (805) 493-3111
Adina Nack nack@callutheran.edu (805) 493-3438
Angela Naginey naginey@callutheran.edu (805) 493-3220
Sharon Nelson smnelso@callutheran.edu (805) 493-3150
Karissa Oien kfaulco@callutheran.edu (805) 493-3145
Dru Pagliassotti paglia@callutheran.edu (805) 493-3374
Christine Paul clpaul@callutheran.edu (805) 493-3546
Chang-Shyh Peng peng@callutheran.edu (805) 493-3819
Wendy Perkins wperkins@callutheran.edu (805) 493-3878
Marisa Post mpost@callutheran.edu  (805) 493-3589
Mindy Puopolo mpuopolo@callutheran.edu (805) 493-3528
Lorraine Purmort purmort@callutheran.edu (805) 493-3112
Eva Ramirez eramirez@callutheran.edu (805) 493-3349
Roxanne Robinson-Jones rrrobins@callutheran.edu  (805) 493-3177
Rene Rock rrock@callutheran.edu (805) 493-3929
Melinda Roper mroper@callutheran.edu (805) 493-3036
Angela Rowley arowley@callutheran.edu (805) 493-3223
Lee Schuh lschuh@callutheran.edu  (805) 493-3569
Lory Selby lselby@callutheran.edu  (805) 493-3686
Cynthia Smith csmith@callutheran.edu (805) 493-3196
Diana Stephens dstephen@callutheran.edu (805) 493-3041
Christina Soria csoria@callutheran.edu  (805) 493-3425
Katie Swavely kswavely@callutheran.edu  (805) 493-3675
Gail Uellendahl uellenda@callutheran.edu (805) 493-3080
Erashel Vaiz evaiz@callutheran.edu (805) 493-3258
Paloma Vargas palomav@callutheran.edu  (805) 493-3069
Courtney Vendetti cvendett@callutheran.edu  (805) 493-3728
Jess Waddell jwaddell@callutheran.edu  (805) 493-3169
Gaye Watts watts@callutheran.edu  (805) 493-3553

 

Interested in becoming a Safe Zone Ally?

SCS holds yearly Safe Zone trainings for students, faculty, and staff. Faculty/staff trainings are typically scheduled during fall semesters, and student trainings are typically scheduled during spring semesters. Please contact Outreach Coordinator, Dr. Beth Turner, at bethturner@callutheran.edu, or call (805) 493-3727 to learn when the next training is scheduled.

If you have a group of 15-22 individuals interested in becoming Safe Zone Allies, please fill out the Outreach Request Form and specify "Safe Zone Training" from the "Type of Outreach" drop-down menu.

 

For questions or more information, please contact Outreach Coordinator, Dr. Beth Turner, at bethturner@callutheran.edu, or call (805) 493-3727.

 

©