Safe Zone Allies

Safe zone

Safe Zone trainings are provided for students, faculty, and staff who are interested in learning about and demonstrating their support for the presence of a culturally diverse campus that embraces underrepresented groups.

Safe Zone Goals

  • To establish a university-wide network of identifiable allies who can provide support, information, and assistance to those who are coping with hardships.
  • To educate members of the Cal Lutheran community about the needs of individuals and groups who tend to receive less public support.
  • To foster an atmosphere of support for the academic, personal, social, and professional success of all students, regardless of their cultural identity.
  • To advance the university’s progress toward a campus climate free of discrimination, oppression, and harassment.
What is an Ally?

An ally works to end oppression and discrimination through support and advocacy.

Allies:
  • Educate themselves and others about their own privileges and biases.
  • Stay committed and active in creating equality.
  • Act as a “safe person” for members of underrepresented groups.
  • Create and promote inclusive and welcoming environments.
  • Work to confront negative attitudes and unequal treatment of people based on their sexual orientation, gender identity, sex, race, class, ability, age, spirituality, and other personal or cultural characteristics.
  • Model self-awareness in their behaviors and attitudes.
  • Model self-compassion and compassion toward others.

 

Interested in becoming a Safe Zone Ally?

SCS holds yearly Safe Zone trainings for students, faculty, and staff. Please contact the Outreach Coordinator, Dr. Beth Turner, at bethturner@callutheran.edu, or call (805) 493-3727 to learn when the next training is scheduled.

If you have a group of 15-25 individuals interested in becoming Safe Zone Allies, please fill out the Outreach Request Form and specify "Safe Zone Training" from the "Type of Outreach" drop-down menu.

 

For questions or more information, please contact the Outreach Coordinator, Dr. Beth Turner, at bethturner@callutheran.edu, or call (805) 493-3727.

 

Faculty and Staff Allies
Name Email Phone
Robyn Ballard rballard@callutheran.edu (805) 493-3109
Linda Boberg lboberg@calutheran.edu (805) 493-3228
Beth Brennan ebrennan@callutheran.edu (805) 493-3687
Jim Bond jabond@calutheran.edu (805) 493-3244
Roberta Brodie rbrodie@calutheran.edu (805) 493-3260
Jessica Burnette jburnett@callutheran.edu (805) 493-3117
Vanessa Chacon vchacon@calutheran.edu (805) 493-3324
Lana Clark lclark@callutheran.edu (805) 493-3883
Anne Cossentine acossent@callutheran.edu (805) 493-3171
Greg Daven gdaven@callutehran.edu (805) 493-3390
Christina Fabbro cfabbro@callutheran.edu (805) 493-3138
Nathan Fall nafall@calutheran.edu (805) 493-3954
Monica Gascon mgascon@calutheran.edu (805) 493-3014
(805) 493-3845
Rahuldeep Gill rgill@callutheran.edu (805) 493-3786
Cynthia Grether cgrether@calutheran.edu (805) 493-3678
Juanita Hall jahall@calutheran.edu (805) 493-3951
Larkin Higgins higgins@calutheran.edu (805) 493-3315
Elena Jaloma ejaloma@callutheran.edu (805) 493-3602
Andrea Kendrick kendrick@calutheran.edu (805) 493-3124
Jodie Kocur jkocur@callutheran.edu (805) 493-3441
Bonnie Johnson brjohnso@calutheran.edu (805) 493-3814
Louise Kelly lakelly@calutheran.edu (805) 493-3597
Maria Kohnke kohnke@calutheran.edu (805) 493-3105
Kerri Lauchner klauchne@calutheran.edu (805) 493-3225
Daniel Lawrence lawrenc@callutheran.edu (805) 493-3489
Schannae Lucas sllucas@callutheran.edu (805) 493-3391
Monica Madrigal mmadriga@calutheran.edu (805) 493-3535
Kevin Matthews kevinm@callutheran.edu (805) 493-3155
Kari Meyers kmeyers@calutheran.edu (805) 587-2041
Holly Mulligan hmulliga@callutheran.edu (805) 493-3111
Adina Nack nack@calutheran.edu (805) 493-3438
Angela Naginey naginey@calutheran.edu (805) 493-3220
Sharon Nelson smnelso@callutheran.edu (805) 493-3150
Karissa Oien kfaulco@calutheran.edu (805) 493-3145
Dru Pagliassotti paglia@calutheran.edu (805) 493-3374
Christine Paul clpaul@calutheran.edu (805) 493-3546
Chang-Shyh Peng peng@calutheran.edu (805) 493-3819
Wendy Perkins wperkins@callutheran.edu (805) 493-3878
Mindy Puopolo mpuopolo@calutheran.edu (805) 493-3528
Lorraine Purmort purmort@calutheran.edu (805) 493-3112
Eva Ramirez eramirez@calutheran.edu (805) 493-3349
Rene Rock rrock@calutheran.edu (805) 493-3929
Melinda Roper mroper@callutheran.edu (805) 493-3036
Angela Rowley arowley@calutheran.edu (805) 493-3223
Lee Schuh lschuh@calutheran.edu  
Cynthia Smith csmith@calutheran.edu (805) 493-3196
Diana Stephens dstephen@calutheran.edu (805) 493-3041
Gail Uellendahl uellenda@calutheran.edu (805) 493-3080
Erashel Vaiz evaiz@callutheran.edu (805) 493-3258
©