Safe Zone Allies

Safe zone

Safe Zone trainings are provided for students, faculty, and staff who are interested in learning about and demonstrating their support for the presence of a culturally diverse campus that embraces underrepresented groups, with special emphasis on the LGBTQIA+ community.

Safe Zone Goals

  • To establish a university-wide network of identifiable allies who can provide support, information, and assistance to those who are coping with hardships, especially those who identify as sexual or gender minorities.
  • To educate members of the Cal Lutheran community about the needs of LGBTQIA individuals and groups who tend to receive less public support.
  • To foster an atmosphere of support for the academic, personal, social, and professional success of all students, regardless of their cultural identities.
  • To advance the university’s progress toward a campus climate free of discrimination, oppression, and harassment. This is also in-line with the University's current strategic goal of Inclusion.

What is an Ally?

An ally works to end oppression and discrimination through support and advocacy.

Allies:
  • Educate themselves and others about their own privileges and biases.
  • Stay committed and active in creating equality.
  • Act as a “safe person” for members of underrepresented groups.
  • Create and promote inclusive and welcoming environments.
  • Work to confront negative attitudes and unequal treatment of people based on their sexual orientation, gender identity, sex, race, class, ability, age, spirituality, and other personal or cultural characteristics.
  • Model self-awareness in their behaviors and attitudes.
  • Model self-compassion and compassion toward others. 

Cal Lutheran Allies

Faculty and Staff Allies
Name Email Phone
Rose Aslan raslan@callutheran.edu  (805) 493-3236
Robyn Ballard rballard@callutheran.edu (805) 493-3109
Linda Boberg lboberg@callutheran.edu (805) 493-3228
Beth Brennan ebrennan@callutheran.edu (805) 493-3687
Pat Brooks pbrooks@callutheran.edu   
Jim Bond jabond@callutheran.edu (805) 493-3244
Lisa Buono llbuono@callutheran.edu  (805) 493-3663

Peter Carlson

pcarlson@callutheran.edu  (805) 493-3435

Loredana Carson

carson@callutheran.edu  (805) 493-3002

Erica Charlson

echarlso@callutheran.edu  805) 493-3664
Lana Clark lclark@callutheran.edu (805) 493-3163
Brian Collins briancollins@callutheran.edu  (805) 493-3233
Greg Daven gdaven@callutehran.edu (805) 493-3390
Karen Davis kdavis@callutheran.edu  (805) 493-3164
Debby Day dday@callutheran.edu  (805) 493-3408
Ryan DeMoss rdemoss@callutheran.edu  (805) 512-4515
Adriana Dominguez adominguez@callutheran.edu  (805) 493-3128
Melissa Donovick mdonovick@callutheran.edu  (805) 493-3571
Colin Doty cdoty@callutheran.edu   
Cynthia Duarte cynthiaduarte@callutheran.edu   
Ineke Dyer dyer@callutheran.edu  (805) 493-3885
Christina Fabbro cfabbro@callutheran.edu (805) 493-3961
Kristy Fenstermaker kfenster@callutheran.edu  (805) 493-3515
Kelsey Fratello kfratell@callutheran.edu  (805) 493-3123
Mike Gagliardo mgagliar@callutheran.edu  (805) 493-6488
Monica Gascon mgascon@callutheran.edu (805) 493-3963
Rahuldeep Gill rgill@callutheran.edu (805) 493-3786
Desta Goehner desta@callutheran.edu  (805) 493-3152
Brianna Gomez bggomez@callutheran.edu  (805) 493-3879
Cindy Grether cgrether@callutheran.edu (805) 493-3678
Juanita Hall jahall@calutheran.edu (805) 493-3951
Andy Hanson ahanson@callutheran.edu  (805) 493-3220
Aaron Heresco aheresco@callutheran.edu   
Carrie Hernandez cmbh@callutheran.edu  (805) 493-3987
Joseph Hernandez jhernan@callutheran.edu  (805) 493-3215
Larkin Higgins higgins@calutheran.edu (805) 493-3452
Caitlin Hodges hodges@callutheran.edu  (805) 493-3154
Jeremy Hoffman jahoffma@callutheran.edu  (805) 493-3113
Joseph Huggins jhuggins@callutheran.edu   
Elena Jaloma-Scott ejaloma@callutheran.edu (805) 493-3602
Bonnie Johnson brjohnso@callutheran.edu  (805) 493-3814
Irena Kageorgis ikageorgis@callutheran.edu  (818) 441-4088
Andrea Kendrick kendrick@calutheran.edu (805) 493-3124
Louise Kelly lakelly@callutheran.edu  (80) 493-3547
Jodie Kocur jkocur@callutheran.edu (805) 493-3441
Maria Kohnke kohnke@callutheran.edu (805) 493-3105
Rey Lainez rlainez@callutheran.edu  (805) 493-3208
Chiara Lamb clamb@callutheran.edu  (805) 493-3991
Jessica Lavariega Monforti jlavariega@callutheran.edu  (805) 493-3015
Kerri Lauchner klauchne@callutheran.edu (805) 493-3225
Cindy Lewis clewis@callutheran.edu  (805) 493-3199
Schannae Lucas sllucas@callutheran.edu (805) 493-3391
Jennifer Lugo jlugo@callutheran.edu  (805) 493-3621
Natalie Luna nluna@callutheran.edu  (805) 493-3300
Jacqueline Lyons jlyons@callutheran.edu  (805) 493-3825
Monica Madrigal mmadriga@callutheran.edu (805) 493-3913
Jayni Martinez jmmartinez@callutheran.edu  (805) 493-3283
Brook Masters bmasters@callutheran.edu  (805) 493-3627
Kevin Matthews kevinm@callutheran.edu (805) 493-3561
Melissa Maxwell-Doherty revmmmd@callutheran.edu  (805) 493-3330
Scott Maxwell-Doherty revsjmd@callutheran.edu  (805) 493-3230
Ryan Medders rmedders@callutheran.edu  (805) 493-3681
Juan Mendoza jmendoza@callutheran.edu  (805) 493-3178
Susie Morales susiemorales@callutheran.edu  (805) 493-3335
Kathleen Murvin kmurvin@callutheran.edu   
Adina Nack nack@callutheran.edu (805) 493-3438
Angela Naginey naginey@callutheran.edu (805) 493-3520
Sharon Nelson smnelso@callutheran.edu (805) 493-3150
Ellen Nichols enichols@callutheran.edu   
Barb Obermeier bobermeier@callutheran.edu   
Karissa Oien kfaulco@callutheran.edu (805) 493-3148
Leanna Pagano lpagano@callutheran.edu  (805) 493-3250
Dru Pagliassotti paglia@callutheran.edu (805) 493-3374
Christine Paul clpaul@callutheran.edu (805) 493-3220
Edlyn Pena epena@callutheran.edu  (805) 493-3021
Chang-Shyh Peng peng@callutheran.edu (805) 493-3619
Mindy Puopolo mpuopolo@callutheran.edu (805) 493-3676
Lorraine Purmort purmort@callutheran.edu (805) 493-3112
Martin Ritz ritz@callutheran.edu  (661) 713-4582
Roxanne Robinson rrrobins@callutheran.edu  (805) 493-3177
Rene Rock rrock@callutheran.edu (805) 493-3929
Theresa Rogers terogers@callutheran.edu  (805) 493-3889
Rachel Ronning-Lindgren rronning@callutheran.edu  (805) 493-3690
Melinda Roper mroper@callutheran.edu (805) 493-3036
Steven Rosen srosen@callutheran.edu  (805) 282-3476
Angela Rowley arowley@callutheran.edu  
Dane Rowley drowley@callutheran.edu  (805) 493-3601
Lee Schuh lschuh@callutheran.edu  (805) 493-3569
Lory Selby lselby@callutheran.edu  (805) 493-3686
Nighat Shah nshah@callutheran.edu  (805) 493-3023
Cynthia Smith csmith@callutheran.edu (805) 493-3196
Kathi Spaulding kjspaul@callutheran.edu  (805) 493-3389
Diana Stephens dstephen@callutheran.edu (805) 493-3041
Christina Soria csoria@callutheran.edu  (805) 493-3425
Katie Swavely kswavely@callutheran.edu  (805) 493-3675
Doug Thiel dthiel@vcccd.edu   
Dan Tillapaugh dtillapaugh@callutheran.edu  (805) 493-3086
Andrea Treptow atreptow@callutheran.edu  (805) 493-3304
Gail Uellendahl uellenda@callutheran.edu (805) 493-3080
Erashel Vaiz evaiz@callutheran.edu (805) 493-3258
Tiki van Heest tiki@callutheran.edu  (805) 493-3329
Paloma Vargas palomav@callutheran.edu  (805) 493-3069
Jess Waddell jwaddell@callutheran.edu  (805) 493-3169
Matt Ward mward@callutheran.edu  (805) 493-3481
Tim Weaver tlweaver@callutheran.edu  (818) 378-8999
Allix Wee awee@callutheran.edu   
Yvonne Wilber ywilber@callutheran.edu  (805) 493-3092
Colleen Windham-Hughes windhamh@callutheran.edu  (805) 493-3238
Patsy Wright pwright@callutheran.edu  (805) 626-0837
Emily Yamamoto eyamamoto@callutheran.edu  (805) 493-3340
Ariana Young ayoung@callutheran.edu  (805) 493-3267
Bruce Zeedik bzeedik@callutheran.edu   

For questions or more information, please contact Director, Dr. Beth Turner, at bethturner@callutheran.edu, or call (805) 493-3727.

Interested in becoming a Safe Zone Ally?

CAPS holds yearly Safe Zone trainings for students, faculty, and staff. Faculty/staff trainings are typically scheduled during fall semesters. 

If you have a group of 10-22 individuals interested in becoming Safe Zone Allies, please fill out the Outreach Request Form and specify "Safe Zone Training."

©