Safe Zone Allies

Safe zone

Safe Zone trainings are provided for students, faculty, and staff who are interested in learning about and demonstrating their support for the presence of a culturally diverse campus that embraces underrepresented groups.

Safe Zone Goals

  • To establish a university-wide network of identifiable allies who can provide support, information, and assistance to those who are coping with hardships.
  • To educate members of the Cal Lutheran community about the needs of individuals and groups who tend to receive less public support.
  • To foster an atmosphere of support for the academic, personal, social, and professional success of all students, regardless of their cultural identities.
  • To advance the university’s progress toward a campus climate free of discrimination, oppression, and harassment.
 
What is an Ally?

An ally works to end oppression and discrimination through support and advocacy.

Allies:
  • Educate themselves and others about their own privileges and biases.
  • Stay committed and active in creating equality.
  • Act as a “safe person” for members of underrepresented groups.
  • Create and promote inclusive and welcoming environments.
  • Work to confront negative attitudes and unequal treatment of people based on their sexual orientation, gender identity, sex, race, class, ability, age, spirituality, and other personal or cultural characteristics.
  • Model self-awareness in their behaviors and attitudes.
  • Model self-compassion and compassion toward others.

 

Faculty and Staff Allies
Name Email Phone
Emily Amilhussin amilhussin@callutheran.edu  (805) 493-3142
Rose Aslan raslan@callutheran.edu  (805) 493-3236
Robyn Ballard rballard@callutheran.edu (805) 493-3109
Majelane Bautista mbautista@callutheran.edu  (805) 493-3662
Linda Boberg lboberg@callutheran.edu (805) 493-3228
Beth Brennan ebrennan@callutheran.edu (805) 493-3687
Jim Bond jabond@callutheran.edu (805) 493-3244
Maggie Bueno mbueno@callutheran.edu  (805) 493-3130
Lisa Buono llbuono@callutheran.edu  (805) 493-3663

Peter Carlson

pcarlson@callutheran.edu  (805) 493-3435

Loredana Carson

carson@callutheran.edu  (805) 493-3002
Lana Clark lclark@callutheran.edu (805) 493-3163
Brian Collins briancollins@callutheran.edu  (805) 493-3233
Edgar Cruz eacruz@callutheran.edu  (805) 493-3180
Greg Daven gdaven@callutehran.edu (805) 493-3390
Karen Davis kdavis@callutheran.edu  (805) 493-3164
Debby Day dday@callutheran.edu  (805) 493-3408
Adriana Dominguez adominguez@callutheran.edu  (805) 493-3128
Cynthia Duarte cynthiaduarte@callutheran.edu   
Ineke Dyer dyer@callutheran.edu  (805) 493-3885
Christina Fabbro cfabbro@callutheran.edu (805) 493-3961
Brandy Fall bfall@callutheran.edu  (805) 493-3225
Nathan Fall nafall@callutheran.edu (805) 493-3954
Kristy Fenstermaker kfenster@callutheran.edu  (805) 493-3515
Sophia Fischer sfischer@callutheran.edu  (805) 493-3846
Mike Gagliardo mgagliar@callutheran.edu  (805) 493-6488
Monica Gascon mgascon@callutheran.edu (805) 493-3963
Rahuldeep Gill rgill@callutheran.edu (805) 493-3786
Desta Goehner desta@callutheran.edu  (805) 493-3152
Jacqueline Greenhill jgreenhi@callutheran.edu  (805) 493-3492
Cindy Grether cgrether@callutheran.edu (805) 493-3678
Juanita Hall jahall@calutheran.edu (805) 493-3951
Andy Hanson ahanson@callutheran.edu  (805) 493-3220
Carrie Hernandez cmbh@callutheran.edu  (805) 493-3987
Joseph Hernandez jhernan@callutheran.edu  (805) 493-3215
Larkin Higgins higgins@calutheran.edu (805) 493-3452
Caitlin Hodges hodges@callutheran.edu  (805) 493-3154
Elena Jaloma-Scott ejaloma@callutheran.edu (805) 493-3602
Andrea Kendrick kendrick@calutheran.edu (805) 493-3124
Jodie Kocur jkocur@callutheran.edu (805) 493-3441
Bonnie Johnson brjohnso@callutheran.edu (805) 493-3814
Louise Kelly lakelly@callutheran.edu (805) 493-3547
Maria Kohnke kohnke@callutheran.edu (805) 493-3105
Chiara Lamb clamb@callutheran.edu  (805) 493-3991
Kerri Lauchner klauchne@callutheran.edu (805) 493-3225
Cindy Lewis clewis@callutheran.edu  (805) 493-3199
Carol Lingrosso clingros@callutheran.edu  (805) 493-3324
Schannae Lucas sllucas@callutheran.edu (805) 493-3391
Natalie Luna nluna@callutheran.edu  (805) 493-3300
Jacqueline Lyons jlyons@callutheran.edu  (805) 493-3825
Monica Madrigal mmadriga@callutheran.edu (805) 493-3913
Jayni Martinez jmmartinez@callutheran.edu  (805) 493-3283
Kevin Matthews kevinm@callutheran.edu (805) 493-3561
Scott Maxwell-Doherty revsjmd@callutheran.edu  (805) 493-3230
Juan Mendoza jmendoza@callutheran.edu  (805) 493-3178
Holly Mulligan hmulliga@callutheran.edu (805) 493-3111
Adina Nack nack@callutheran.edu (805) 493-3438
Angela Naginey naginey@callutheran.edu (805) 493-3520
Sharon Nelson smnelso@callutheran.edu (805) 493-3150
Karissa Oien kfaulco@callutheran.edu (805) 493-3148
Dru Pagliassotti paglia@callutheran.edu (805) 493-3374
Christine Paul clpaul@callutheran.edu (805) 493-3220
Chang-Shyh Peng peng@callutheran.edu (805) 493-3619
Katie Perkins kperkins@callutheran.edu  (805) 493-3750
Shayna Perry smperry@callutheran.edu  (805) 493-3220
Marisa Post mpost@callutheran.edu  (805) 493-3589
Mindy Puopolo mpuopolo@callutheran.edu (805) 493-3676
Lorraine Purmort purmort@callutheran.edu (805) 493-3112
Eva Ramirez eramirez@callutheran.edu (805) 493-3349
Roxanne Robinson rrrobins@callutheran.edu  (805) 493-3177
Rene Rock rrock@callutheran.edu (805) 493-3929
Theresa Rogers terogers@callutheran.edu  (805) 493-3889
Melinda Roper mroper@callutheran.edu (805) 493-3036
Angela Rowley arowley@callutheran.edu  
Dane Rowley drowley@callutheran.edu  (805) 493-3601
Lee Schuh lschuh@callutheran.edu  (805) 493-3569
Lory Selby lselby@callutheran.edu  (805) 493-3686
Nighat Shah nshah@callutheran.edu  (805) 493-3023
Cynthia Smith csmith@callutheran.edu (805) 493-3196
Kathi Spaulding kjspaul@callutheran.edu  (805) 493-3389
Diana Stephens dstephen@callutheran.edu (805) 493-3041
Christina Soria csoria@callutheran.edu  (805) 493-3425
Katie Swavely kswavely@callutheran.edu  (805) 493-3675
Andrea Treptow atreptow@callutheran.edu  (805) 493-3304
Gail Uellendahl uellenda@callutheran.edu (805) 493-3080
Erashel Vaiz evaiz@callutheran.edu (805) 493-3258
Tiki van Heest tiki@callutheran.edu  (805) 493-3329
Paloma Vargas palomav@callutheran.edu  (805) 493-3069
Courtney Vendetti cvendett@callutheran.edu  (805) 493-3728
Jess Waddell jwaddell@callutheran.edu  (805) 493-3169
Matt Ward mward@callutheran.edu  (805) 493-3481
Yvonne Wilber ywilber@callutheran.edu  (805) 493-3092
Emily Yamamoto eyamamoto@callutheran.edu  (805) 493-3340

 

Interested in becoming a Safe Zone Ally?

CAPS holds yearly Safe Zone trainings for students, faculty, and staff. Faculty/staff trainings are typically scheduled during fall semesters, and student trainings are typically scheduled during spring semesters. 

If you have a group of 10-22 individuals interested in becoming Safe Zone Allies, please fill out the Outreach Request Form and specify "Safe Zone Training" from the "Type of Outreach" drop-down menu.

 

For questions or more information, please contact Outreach Coordinator, Dr. Beth Turner, at bethturner@callutheran.edu, or call (805) 493-3727.

©